TFP and me

useravatar
Emeritus
Photographer
Las Vegas, Nevada
Lounge Host
1191 Posts

Top TFP and me

Lately one of our members has made an impassioned claim that TFP is the devil's spawn - that it "enslaves" models, that they are "used" or "abused" because someone takes their pictures "for free".  It's a remarkable claim, and his twists and turns in making it have been the source of a good deal of amusement here on the forums.

Well, I do TFP.  In fact, that's pretty much all I do these days.  So perhaps a bit of a mea culpa is in order for all the times I have "enslaved" models - and continue to.

Perhaps a bit of preliminary information would help.  I've been a professional photographer, for a very long time.  I've sold lots and lots of pictures, have lots and lots of tearsheets, and really don't need to see my name in print anymore.  Now I'm retired.

I love photography for its own sake, don't like the hassles that come with being "in business", and don't need the money.  So I have chosen  not to get a business license here, and as a matter of policy will not, ever, charge anyone for photography.  From time to time I am asked to do commercial jobs.  When that happens, if it's something I really am very interested in doing, I do it for free.  If it's not, I refer it to a good commercial photographer here, who is perfectly happy to charge clients for his work.

Now to the mea culpa, where I detail the way I "enslave" models.  Perhaps the best way to do that is by giving examples.  So here are two current ones:

Ivana

Ivana is rapidly becoming my muse.  She came to me as models often do, by word-of-mouth referral (read:  some other model I had "enslaved" liked it so much she suggested to Ivana to call and ask if I would take her pictures too.)  She asked me how much I would charge her (even though I had not charged the friend who referred her); when I said I don't charge for photography she was very pleased.