Register

Sign In

Login with facebook

Shooters in NYC, will new fees affect you?

useravatar
SLE Photography
Photographer
Arnold, Maryland
Site Host
2557 Posts

Top Shooters in NYC, will new fees affect you?

I just caught this story that NYC is going to take formerly free permits for filming & start charging $300.  They mention this's for anything requiring a tripod, crew, etc, and they're talking about film & video but it sounds like this will affect stills too.  Have you all heard about it?  Are you expecting it to affect you?  Anyone think it'll lead to more guerrilla shooting?

I am a Model Insider site admin, please feel free to PM me with any site related issues, or for faster response contact our team via the Helpdesk

James Glendinning / SilverLight Esoterica Photography / SLE Photography

useravatar
gpmcguire
Photographer
Brooklyn, New York
741 Posts

Top Re: Shooters in NYC, will new fees affect you?

Just heard about this -- it seems it is geared more towards all the major productions and all the Law and Order shows shot here.

I shoot Guerrilla anyway so it's not going to affect me till someone stops me anyway.

However the tripod part has me concerned - are they going to fine tourists who use a tripod?
I'm sure some over zealous cop might jump on this.

Going to be an interesting summer now.

useravatar
Curtis Wood
Photographer
Logan, Utah
1637 Posts

holy crap...

:-)

Super calloused Fragile mystic Hexed by halitosis
Mary Poppins, I ain't!

TeamInsider member - PM me if you have any questions or visit us in the chat.

useravatar
John Rayner
Photographer
Rapid City, South Dakota
1325 Posts

sounds like the Big apple is really going after the money. I am sure glad I am far from there when this is concerned.

useravatar
P I X I E
Female Model
Montréal
76 Posts

What da hell?

useravatar
jwb imagery
Photographer
Hot Springs, Arkansas
183 Posts

Let me think.

Could it be just a money grubbing bunch of city fathers.